Fitness Junkie


Taking the First Step
May 13, 2008, 3:38 am
Filed under: Stay'n on Track | Tags: , ,

“I admit I am powerless over my addiction.  My name is May Blaiz and I am a fitness junkie. ” 

Sound familiar?  This is a common statement used among addiction support groups across the country as part of the 12 Step  program to recovery.  The first step is admitting I am powerless over my addiction.  It’s just that in this case, it’s not an addiction to alcohol, drugs or food that I have.  It’s an addiction to fitness.  I have an insatiable interest and devotion which therefore makes me a junkie… yup, a fitness junkie.

I can admit it.  I seek information constantly on how to Stay on Track with fitness.  Newspapers.  Health magazines.  Online sources.  Friends.  Family.  There’s never the right amount of information I need to achieve a higher level.  It’s like the more I know, the more I realize I don’t know and then I go out and seek out more information.

Not only that, I need my Fitness Fix.  Whether it be going to the gym for a blast of cardio or a hardcore strength training session or heading over to the studio for a Bikram’s Yoga session, I need my Fix … yet oftentimes life gets in the way.  Work, family, friends, travel and oftentimes (okay, all the time) , my own sorry excuses keep me from getting the Fix I know I need. 

So it is here that I take the first step in ensuring I get my Daily Hit.  Motivation, inspiration and that extra kick in my junkie ass to keep going in this crazy journey.  And like the 12th Step states …

Having had a spiritual awakening as the result of these steps, I will carry this message to other addicts, and to practice these principles in all my affairs “…

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I believe the words are inspiration, dedication, motivation and elation….

keep the dream alive May…healthy, balanced, living the essence of the vibe

We support natural balance and strength in health and fitness http://www.solostrength.com

Comment by Michael

Hi May,

I think I’m developing the addiction to fitness myself….enjoyed your post.

Jules

Comment by Juliette




Leave a Reply

